Skip to content

People and structure

The Authority's Board members are appointed by the Governor General on the advice of Parliament.

Under the Independent Police Conduct Authority Act 1988, the Authority can have up to five members. One member of the Authority serves as chairperson, and the chairperson must be a Judge or a retired Judge.

Judge Colin Doherty - Authority Chair

Judge Colin Doherty came to the Authority from his position as the National Executive Judge of the District Court of New Zealand. He was appointed Chair of the Independent Police Conduct Authority in August 2017 for a term of five years. Judge Doherty succeeds Judge Sir David J. Carruthers

Dianne Macaskill, Simon Murdoch - Authority members

In October 2015 Parliament approved a Notice of Motion appointing new Board members to the Authority. Authority members Dianne Macaskill and Simon Murdoch>>


The Authority's structure:

  • Senior Management Team
  • Investigation Team
  • Case Resolution Team. This Team maintains oversight of complaints and contact with complainants until a complaint is resolved.
  • Corporate Team




MoST Content Management V3.0.6374